Board Information

Board of Directors

Four Lakes Education Board of Directors

Jerry Deschane photo

Jerry Deschane | President

Jerry Deschane has served on public school boards in Wisconsin for over 16 years, including as one of the founding members of the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board. Jerry is the executive director of the League of Wisconsin Municipalities and was the lead lobbyist for the Wisconsin Builders Association for 20 years as an association management consultant and writer. He is also a 28-year veteran of government relations and association management and has served as board president since the establishment of the WIVA Charter with the McFarland School District in 2009.

Laura Cataldo photo

Laura Cataldo | Vice President

Laura Cataldo specializes in management consulting for construction contractors, labor organizations, and trade associations, with a focus on strategic planning, organizational effectiveness, business development strategy, and workforce development. Laura is chair for the Workforce Development Board of South-Central Wisconsin and serves as co-chair for the Associated General Contractors (AGC) of America’s Industry Recruiting Task Force. She is also an active thought leader for many industry publications and events.

Nick Cochart photo

Nick Cochart | Secretary

Nick Cochart lives in Casco, Wisconsin and joined the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board in August 2022. His leadership as former superintendent of Algoma extends to regional and national initiatives. Nick was elected president of the Door/Kewaunee County insurance consortium, is community advisor for the Institute of Healthcare Improvement’s SCALE initiative with 100 Million Healthier Lives, is a Culture of Health ambassador for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and received the Northeast Wisconsin Manufacturing Alliance’s Education Innovation Award. In 2022, Nick also co-founded KinectM1, a consultant firm dedicated to community transformation. 

Robb Kahl photo

Robb Kahl | Treasurer

Robb Kahl serves as chairman of bank holding companies for Unity Bank, executive director of Construction Business Group, and president and partner of Generations Title Company, LLC. Robb previously served as a Wisconsin State Assembly Representative (47th Assembly District) for four years working on legislative, regulatory, and constituent matters. He also served as mayor of Monona (2003-2011) and held responsibility for overseeing city operations, staffing matters, and establishing budget and policy. Robb became a member of the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board of Directors in 2016.

Dean Gille photo

Dean Gille | Member

Dean Gille is president of AM Solutions and works as an innovative business executive with a proven track record in leadership strategy and B2B development. He brings over 20 years of extensive experience in print management, marketing, direct mail, and customer care and operations with a focus on creating a strong team collaboration and building client relationships through clear and consistent communications. Dean’s passion is helping clients achieve their goals, creating new opportunities, and continually raising the bar to meet their everyday needs. Dean has been a member of the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board of Directors since 2012 and as a long-time business executive, he brings a positive and solution-oriented mindset to school governance, believes in school choice, and enjoys the opportunity to serve.

Amy Sue Vruwink photo

Amy Sue Vruwink | Member

Born in Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, Amy Sue Vruwink graduated from Auburndale High School and then from Marian University. Amy is a former Democratic Party member of the of the Wisconsin State Assembly and represented the 70th Assembly District from 2002 to 2015. She was also a former aide to Congressman David Obey and the area program director for the Minnesota Farm Bureau. Amy currently works for Representative Ron Kind while supporting her family farm in Wood County, and one of her children attended WIVA for a period before she joined the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board in August 2022.

Dr. Scott Brown photo

Dr. Scott Brown | McFarland School District Superintendent Liaison (Prior Superintendent) & Member

Tom Mooney photo

Tom Mooney | Appointed McFarland Board of Education Non-Voting Member

Tom Mooney is a retired McFarland Elementary School principal and a McFarland School District board member as of August 2017. Tom retired from the board in 2020 and was re-elected in the spring of 2022, when he returned as an appointed member for the Four Lakes Education, Inc. Board.